What did someone do that made you think they were really smart? by Anonymous

Answer by Anonymous:

My son and I went on a trip to Italy a month ago. He's now 14 years old and I've been playing chess with him since he was 7 or 8, he's basically just been playing with me every month or so ever since, never competed. I rarely beat him nowadays, if I make a poor move he'll point it out and I'll get to re-think it, I would do this for him when he was younger.

So, we bought one of these little chess boards with magnets and all that for like 5 bucks which we brought with us to Italy. One of these:

One night after we had arrived in Italy we decided to play a game. First game I lost quite badly, but to my defence I could barely see those small pieces. I had a really hard time distinguishing between the bishops and queens. And I pointed that out to him. Wanna know how he replied?

"Hah, sure. Ill play next game without even looking at those god damn pieces if you just stop complaining." And he turned his body 180 degrees facing the wall. "I'll open up with e4."

I thought he was joking but simply went with the flow, calling my moves to him, he would say his move out loud to me and I would move for him. I thought it was ridiculous! No way he's gonna pull this off. I went for a cheesy check mate with queen and bishop, no way he can spot that. Of course he did, two or three moves later I've blundered a pawn and I can't believe it.

The rest of the game he owns me. Owns me. Although he had to ask where his knight was once he remembered the position of all the pieces precisely. And he ended up freaking winning the game.

WTF JUST HAPPENED?

EDIT: To everyone thinking that my kid is bad because he seems disrespectful to his parent, he's not. It's our way of communicating, we do it like a joke. He says kinda cocky things to me and I reply with even cockier statements, we find it hilarious. We realize that everyone doesn't find this acceptable and therefore we don't do that kind of thing unless it's just him and me.

It's not rude, its a joke.

Also, trust me, I have my reasons for going anonymous that has to do with the fact that I went to Italy.

What did someone do that made you think they were really smart?

